Etsy Reviews

Show reviews that mention
order account seller money item refund customer email service number
Filter review

Etsy - Online Order Review from Irving, Illinois

I ordered an item through Etsy from Dentz Denim and the very next day I tried to cancel the order,because I found one I liked better (also from Etsy). Etsy said I had to deal directly with the vendor, who said they did not answer emails, but would also not give me any other way to contact them. Looks like I'm out money on an item I don't want and nothing I can do about it. Won't be ordering from Etsy anymore if this doesn't get resolved, and will be telling others not to as well.
View full review
ID
#561735 Review #561735 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Irving, Illinois
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Etsy protects perpetrators, not victims!!

I recently bought a leather bound journal from an Etsy shop. When it arrived, I was horribly disappointed in the quality. It was some cheap imitation leather. The image on it was already wearing off around the edges. I asked the seller if I could return it, and initially he said yes. But, once I put it in the mail back to him, he disappeared. After multiple unanswered messages, I finally left a candid 1 star review for the purchase and opened cases against him both on Etsy and PayPal. The seller contacted me right away after I posted the review, demanding I delete it or he would not refund my money. Anyway, PayPal took care of what Etsy did not, and refunded it. However, I was very surprised to find when I went back on Etsy that the review on that purchase had disappeared. I contacted Etsy asking why it had been deleted, as it was an honest review. They sent me back a message saying that while they "realized the seller had initiated the exchange about deleting the review or else no refund, but it violated their anti-extortion policies." It went on to say they would take action against my account if I used reviews "again in this way." So basically, this guy is selling cheap *** journals at a premium price, keeping money from products returned, and then HE blackmailed ME demanding I delete an honest review or else he wouldn't refund my money and I have Etsy threaten ME with action against my account?! How does that make sense?! Talk about victim-blaming! What a horrible, horrible company. I will NEVER buy on etsy again!!!
View full review
ID
#559290 Review #559290 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
North Royalton, Ohio

TERRIBLE Experience, Deceitful and criminal!

Terrible experience. First, the quality of the shawl was unacceptable; the edges were frayed and unfinished and the material was not on par with the item’s value ($50). I returned the item, receipts, and the detached tag, and emailed the seller to inform her of my return. Note: The tag, attached by a single thread, was removed as to not damage the garment when I tried it on. One week later, still no response or refund. After receiving no response from another email, I had to CALL HER phone, which she did answer and assured me everything is fine and that the refund will be processed ASAP. I then receive an email first accusing me of sending her “threatening” emails AND that my refund will not be issued because I removed the tag. She then attempted several times to sell it BACK to me for $15! Appallingly unethical behavior.
View full review
ID
#558229 Review #558229 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sharon, Massachusetts
Cons
  • Lied about refund
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$50
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer
Every etsy order ive received has been 100% great
I have ordered a galaxy s3 phone case, retro sunglasses, tobacco pipe, and a sticker for my car. All from different sellers on this site. I've had great experiences no problems at all. You just have to make sure that who you're buying from has a lot of reviews. That...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#939931

You're right that there are good sellers on Etsy. However, you'll note that many of the complaints here aren't just about bad sellers, but about Etsy engaging in questionable practices, such as deleting legitimate negative reviews.

So when you claim that you are going to be "safe" by only shopping from sellers with only positive reviews (well, duh), what some of us here are trying to warn you about is that you cannot rely on those "positive" reviews being accurate. Some of us have been burned and when we left reviews to point that out to other potential shoppers, our reviews were deleted by Etsy.

And at least in my case I can confirm that my negative review wasn't crude or inappropriate, and it was 100% factual. I truly feel bad for the people who will continue shopping at the problem seller I dealt with, because more people are going to get burned.

ID
#557117 Review #557117 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

No response from a Seller or Etsy

Update by user Nov 04, 2014

Since I was unable to get any action our of Etsy, I started a transaction dispute in Paypal, then called them on my urgency to get the issue resolved since I am working on costumes for show. They gave me the seller's phone number so I contacted her directly only to find out that she has no internet connection at her home and had not been able to check her email, etc.

for about a week, but had also been having issues as a seller with Etsy.

The fabric I purchased was supposed to be mailed out today. We will see if I receive it by the end of the week.

Original review posted by user Nov 04, 2014
I purchased some plaid taffeta fabric from a seller (East Coast Accessories) on Etsy (Oct. 29th). I have tried to communicate with the seller (six emails or conversations) for a week now, but have received no response. I have also made an attempt to contact Etsy for some help, but with no response. What a sham!!!! If they cannot conduct business accordingly and in a professional manner, they should be shut down. At this point, I cannot open a case for help, cancel and get a refund unless I dispute through PayPal and I really want that particular fabric, or I would not have purchased it. I will no longer after I get this debacle cleared up purchase anything through, sell or recommend Etsy to anyone!
View full review
ID
#553890 Review #553890 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
Cons
  • No response from seller
  • No shipping by seller
  • No response from etsy
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$26
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer
I was a seller on Etsy for almost a year. I have had 999 sales as of today. Because I used the following words or put a photo I took myself, I was kicked off today. Here are my infringements. 1) used the word M&M on these little cabochons which said M&M on...
View full review
View full review
4 comments
#1178925

You broke the copyright infringement rule, so you deserved to get kicked off. The rules are there to protect the customers.

Besides, shame on you for thinking you were above the rules. You got caught and others will too.

I report rule breakers when I see them and report to the company itself, if it's a copyright infringement, because there are many honest sellers working hard to be overshadowed by people like you.

View more comments
ID
#541792 Review #541792 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$8000

Got scammed

I ordered my hanger through her, gave her the info and was assured i would be happy with my product. I never received my product, however. I tried several times to contact her and I kept getting automated messages about being busy or on vacation and now the user is no longer on Etsy to even try anything else. Waste of money. I can't believe people who do these things. I'm having a tough enough year and being scammed like this was just the icing on the cake. I wish the bad reviews came out before I ordered, or I wish I would have dug a little deeper, but I was ordering a few different things from different shops and ran into no other issues so I was not on alert for this. I'm not mad with Etsy, nothing they can do now, there are still plenty of good shops, but now I'm thinking I'll attempt to make my own hanger.
View full review
ID
#539158 Review #539158 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$14
Preferred solution
Full refund
I have been conned out of a lot of money from this fake seller on Etsy. I wish I had done a search into this *** artist before parting with my money. I was sold 2 fake Djinn rings and several spells. None of these items worked and I received no refund at all. She...
View full review
View full review
4 comments
#973386

Hi,

I just got 2 spells from that shop..Uhm they call themselves differently now. One of them is Tess...I hope this is not a scam, or else I won't be seeing my ca$h again...

View more comments
ID
#539072 Review #539072 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hamilton, Scotland

WISHUPONSTARFISH IS NOW GETTINGITTWISTED ON ETSY

Please this is a warning to all etsy shoppers gettingittwisted is nila clark she has opened up a new shop and pretty much has neglected all those other orders and money from people please do not order from gettingittwisted on etsy. I was going to order from her and was talking to her on etsy and in one of the conversations she signed the conversation Nila. I did some more digging and 3 days after wishuponstarfish was shut down on etsy (AKA Nila) clark this shop was opened. Then I looked at the info she doesn't have any pictures of the actual shop owner the Facebook page is generic it doesn't tell you were the owner is from she has it all blocked and even the about page is very simplistic. JUST A WARNING
View full review
2 comments
#883598

I was Googling my friend Ella's shop GettingItTwisted and saw this out and out LIE so I had to comment! I know Ella in person and she is not the other one and does not even know her so this is a LIE.

Not only is this a LIE but the liar saying she signed the other person's name is an even bigger LIE!!! Ella is a victim of domestic abuse and that is why her stuff is private you ***.

She is NOT THAT PERSON. I am going to contact the administrator of this site to get this LIE removed and I agree with the person above who said you have to own a hanger store and are jealous of her for taking your business because she is cheaper and BETTER!!!!

Liar.

#882538

No, this is not her but CarolinaTwist is. Go look at carolinatwist.com it directs to wishuponstarfish.com really people shouldn't start rumors like this to hurt honest sellers. I think you must be another hanger shop owner.

View more comments (1)
ID
#538307 Review #538307 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Henrietta, New York
Product
Etsy Wishuponstarfish Profile
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Preferred solution
Full refund

Etsy Is Tyrannical

Through various screen/store names I have been there from the beginning and I have watched the website decline from a handmade utopia to the 7th level of *** for handmade sellers. Here is just an outline of some of the major problems (there have been dozens more than what is mentioned) that I have encountered as a seller on Etsy: I had my *1st major* issue with them when they allowed another seller to replicate my products, to the T, sell them as her own and tell people on other websites I was the one stealing from her. I tried getting etsy to intervene since it was their selling platform that initiated the 1st attack and was being used to fraud my business and they refused. They sent me a message that basically read as "we encourage sellers to steal popular designs from others" My 2nd major issue was when a "front page seller" made the front page in October with an item that she stole the pictures and wording/description from me and they didnt change the item to link back to me, instead they just took it off the front page. I had to fight them for weeks to make that seller remove over 20 pictures and item descriptions stolen from my store. My 3rd major issue with them -and when I closed my etsy store the 1st time- is when a jewelry company stole one of my jewelry designs, copyrighted it and used etsy to send me a cease and desist. Etsy Legal team sent me a hostile and threatening email telling me not to relist the item. Etsy ALSO removed the item from my store and removed every single transaction of the item I sold in the past so I couldnt use Etsy to prove I was selling the item before "company x" stole the design. 4th Major Issue; My etsy store is now closed for good because I had a yet another customer try to use the feedback system to blackmail me for a refund on a product received. Etsy refused to interceded. Out of the 1,000+ positive feedback I have this ONE negative brought down my entire store rating. Not only did etsy refuse to remove the feedback they locked my account and sent me several threatening emails to remove what I have stated about them or they would not allow me to use their site to buy/sell. Once locked out of my account I could not respond to customer messages or send current open orders. Anyone whom purchased from me via Etsy checkout was not able to receive their orders. It has extended beyond etsy issue, now the company, by not allowing me to complete orders and contact customers, is giving my 12 year old business a bad name. As seller who has been with etsy since week 1 of their launch and has tried to work with them and overlook their CS issues and refusal to side with sellers in the event of issues I can honestly say I will never use etsy again for buying or selling.
View full review
1 comment
#1202245

Etsy steals designs, ideas and eliminate any other vendor that can compete with them, the reason is that employees/staff are able to have stores too. My stores have been suspended due to policies infraction that lot of others vendors also sell and still are open. It doesnt look that a fair plain field for everybody.

If they see that your store is doing good, they will copy your model/merchandise and kick u out of their site.

ID
#529628 Review #529628 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Etsy Website
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Better customer Service Staff And Ability Of Upholding TOS

Etsy - Shorts Review

I bought a pair of shorts from DENTZ DENIM and they were garbage! They were seriously the most poorly made shorts I have ever purchased. Everything was wrong. The fit, the color, the detailing, and there was lint and hard to pick out fuzz balls all over them. I contacted the Caroyln Dentz (seller) and I told her about the poorly made product I received. The communication between us was prompt, until I complained. I sent the shorts out to be returned and I haven't heard back from her, so there goes my money down the drain. I had no clue how a seller with such poor customer service and products is still in business. What a joke. Have fun scamming the next sucker Caroyln Dentz!
View full review
ID
#528253 Review #528253 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Unreceived Item Review

Purchased an item with Wing at Forest Girl Design from Los Angeles on June 13, 2014 and never received my goods. This is terrible business. Theft! This is her email information: forestgirldesign@***.com
View full review
ID
#526902 Review #526902 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Princeton, New Jersey

BUYERS BEAWARE ETSY CONSUMER PROTECTION POLICY STINKS!!!

ETSY DID NOTHING TO ASSIST WITH A SELLER THAT WENT MIA FOR A WEEK AVOIDING A REFUND N A DESTROYED ITEM!!! ETSY policy is that they do not help for 14 days after you get ripped off...unlike EBAY who are on the phone within minutes to resolve your issue. ETSY you get lame managers with NO POWER TO ASSIST give you lip service as you Waite for a seller to decide to get back to you with a refund. ETSY is a robot site with endless articles on what to do when you get screwed by a dealer...STAY OFF ETSY!!!!
View full review
ID
#520932 Review #520932 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Review about Unreceived Phone Cases

Hey to you sir, I bought from you 60 days ago 2 galaxy 4s Chanel cases, I haven't received them yet, I ask you or you send me back my payment or you may send me back the 2 cases that I ordered, thank you agin... Akram Mansour Akrm1906@***.com
View full review
ID
#516209 Review #516209 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv

Never received my items

I never received my items. I initially purchased items back on April 18,2014. With the under stand that it may take a month to get the finished product. I had been person emailing seeker on several occasion with the hopes of again getting my purchase. We even talk about personal things about life. How and why the business was started due to having to take care of her daughter children after she passed away in a fatal accident but the children came out ok. But never the less I emphasized with the seller and wanted the items for my first grandson. I have since cn acted the seeker on several ther occasion. April, May, June, and now July. I paid $264.40 through Paypal. I started the compliant process, and was told 1. Custom items are not guaranteed 2. The items were not purchase through EBay so my purchased was not secure. I was very frustrated. Seller information is as followed. Owner/operator: ms Vickie aka Grammy Business: GrammyKidsLoveys address is Grammys House 105 Idletime Drive Greeneville, TN 37743 GrammyzHouse@***.com I have lost my money and wanted to file a compliant and wanted to warn others
View full review
3 comments
#963102

Why are you anonymous when you post personal information on someone else?!?! The seller should post all of your personal information so other sellers can block you. Really low to post about deceased child!!!!

#876470

It is just wrong for that person to include such personal information concerning the death of a child that has absolutely nothing to do with the situation! How crude and ***!

Whoever you are, you should be ashamed! What if that happened to you?

YOU ARE POND ***!!! You are the one who should have been turned in for being so callous!

#851363

This is a total fabrication! She did not purchase through ETSY.

I waited for a month for her to send a pillowcase she wanted me to use for her custom quilt. After contacting her, she finally sent the pillowcase. She asked for many other "items" which I was happy to custom design for her. Her package was shipped, she gave me the incorrect address.

I responded to her messages. The package was resent, then returned to me, had been opened and items taken out. I fully refunded her $264.50 via Paypal. I don't know what more could be done to satisfy this person.

Now she is slandering me as well as threatening me with Internet Crime.

Lesson learned here. And most of all, I do NOT appreciate her displaying information concerning my deceased daughter, that is cruel and personal.

View more comments (2)
ID
#514742 Review #514742 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Longview, Texas
Loss
$264